It is more important to keep old friends rather than to make new friends

A great deal of attention has been attracted to people's relations focusing on the fact that whether it is valuable to maintain our previous friends or make new friends. I, for one, describe to the notion that having new relationships are more beneficial than lasting our previous relations. To substantiate this view point, two reasons are elaborated in what fallows.

To being with, a typical person can be successful if he makes new friends in new situations. In fact, our reliance to our old friends and relations poses formidable obstacle to achieving our goals. Therefore, it is crystal clear that as we gain new experience, we should update the people we are in contact with. My life can illustrate this point clearly. Being at the age of 25, I have a specific group of friend mainly consisted of my classmates from my undergraduate study. However, I started to work in an international company and developed new relations with people who behave in a mature and expert way. Comparing my childish behavior with my old friends, I recognized that it would not be possible for me to gradually progress in my career if I continued my relation with that group. Therefore, I started to be in contact with my colleagues, those whom I desired to be like them and conversely limit my relation with my classmates those whom I decided to not be like them which was eventually resulted in a major breakthrough in my profession after some years. Had I not disconnected my relation with former friends and not made new relations with my colleagues, I would not thrive in my job and personal life.

Secondly, by making new friends an individual will learn new skills and strengthen his characteristic features. In other words, the more friends we have, the greater likelihood of leaning new thing from them will be. Consequently, by receiving new knowledge we can modify our way of life and enlarge our vision in order to be in a better positions. For instance, my younger brother, Jack, was in close relation with a number of neighbors’ children. Sharing similar habits and hobbies, they were just playing video games and were not aware of the entire world. However, one day my brother accidentally met a girl in a social media, and had really good relationship with that girl. After being in contact with her for a while, he could change his character from a shy boy to a totally sociable person since he regularly went to different parties with his girlfriend and made numerous friends in different places. In this regard, my brother received new experience and knowledge in his relations by making new friends and subsequently he strengthened new abilities.

In conclusion, above from aforementioned explanations, I do believe that trying to make new friends is more acceptable than being in our previous condition with our previous friends. This is because not only we can increase our capabilities such as social ability by new friends but also we become more prosperous in new situations.