It is more important for students to read books about real events than it is for them to read novels.

Many people believe it is not a good idea for students to read novels since it would waste their useful time that could otherwise be spent on learning about facts or studying. They also believe that reading novels would take students away from reality. However, I don’t believe this argument is cogent enough for the reasons I will discuss in this essay.

First, it is mind refreshing for students to spend their time on issues rather than science and facts. Reading novels could provide students with the opportunity to relax their minds and get some energy for the time they want to go back to studying. Contrarywise, having spent all their time learning about facts, students’ brains will be overloaded with unnecessary information, and consequently, the student will get tired and won’t be able to concentrate further on the facts he is going to learn at school.

Second, students can learn so much about life by reading novels. For instance, reading novels written by famous authors about the life of fictional characters can help students imagine themselves as living the characters’ lives and feel like they are going through the same difficulties, or should make the same tough decisions some characters have to make. For example, classic novels like the ones written by Dostoyevsky can be so informative for high school students.

Thirdly, novels can help students boost their imagination. There are lots of science fiction novels written for teenagers of different ages that make them think of situtions thst never happen in the real life. Once I saw a book about monsters that was purely science fiction, however, it was written in its preface that the book is trying to teach teenagers some concepts from psychological books about imagination.

Overall, despite the wide range of opposition toward it, I certainly believe students benefit from reading novels far more than they benefit from reding about actual facts.