It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

The debate concerning our education system, especially about whether it should be more academic or practical has drawn great attention from almost everyone. Conservative ideas such as teaching students to understand ideas and concepts is more important than teaching them facts has been in the dominant position for a long time. But in my opinion, I consider these two ideas of the same significance.

Undeniably, academic knowledge such as ideas and concepts is the key to solving not only academic questions but also practical ones. Ideas and concepts in other words are cases of how the forerunners solved problems they were facing, and how they succeeded, therefore understanding them paves the way of solving our problems in the future. If a student who studied in schools for more than a decade yet only knows facts, how is the one unique from archives in libraries? In this era in which every fact can be found online, the ability to come up with ideas and solutions, by which I mean knowing how to apply cases learned in school is the key quality.

Yet, emphasizing the importance of ideas and concepts should not overwhelm the significance of knowing facts, the facts are the basis of good ideas. As stated above, building the understanding of ideas and concepts relies on the accumulation of known facts, and without it, all the ideas and concepts will be just unapplicable fantasies, like a skyscraper without a foundation. For instance, we can always see many people online commenting on topics such as physics and social science. They all act like they have a very wide range of knowledge, but their comments are mostly unpractical and contradictory, and that is exactly the result of over-emphasizing ideas and ignorance of facts.

In conclusion, learning facts is of no less importance than understanding ideas and concepts, as favorable ideas and concepts cannot be built without the knowledge of facts, and facts can not be organized and used without a good idea or concept.