It is more important for teachers to connect with students than to be experts in their fields

Some people believe that having familiar bonds with their students are more important for teachers compared to their knowledge. Others say that having expertise on their specific fields is the most important ability for teachers. My view on this issue is same with the latter people. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in following essay.

To begin with, the main and original role of the teachers are teaching their students, not become a friend of them. Therefore, achieving abilities to teach specific knowledge should be considered as a top priority of every teacher. If teachers focus more on their relationships with their students than the origin role of them, the overall academical achievement of students will be decreased. For example, when I was in my high school years, there were a teacher who assigned both role of school counselor and Korean language teacher. It would be perfect if she had succeeded to do both roles, unfortunately, she focused on the counselling than the teaching. I was assigned to her Korean language class, but the quality of her lecture was relatively low compared to others who teach the same subject. It was also not suitable to prepare ‘suneung,’ the Korean SAT. Therefore, I could not help but registered in private academy to prepare the test.

On top of that, the teacher who lack the knowledge do not have authority. Having extraordinary knowledge about their major subjects is prerequisite of teachers. However, if their ability is overwhelmed by their students, they cannot be able to maintain their authority as a lecturer. To be specific, one of my friends was born in London, UK. However, since his parents are both Korean, he moved to Korea when he was sixteenth. Thanks to his cultural backgrounds in UK, his English fluency had outweighed the abilities of English teachers in my middle school. Also, his ability to explain difficult questions was superb. As time goes by, he became our English mentor who was not only better than ordinary teachers but also easier to visit. At the end of the semester, my classmates asked almost every question about English subject to him, not teachers.

In conclusion, as a teacher, having bonds with their students is important. Nevertheless, they should remember the original role of them and be cautious the fact that they can be surpassed by their students. Therefore, I assert that the teacher should focus on their expertise than making connection with students.