Many people believe that greed, or desire to have more wealth than other people have, is a bad characteristic; people who are greedy are often considered selfish or unkind. However, some people argue that greed is actually a good characteristic for a person because greedy people will work harder than others to become successful. Do you believe greed is a good characteristic? Why or Why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Greed is considered as one of the seven sins of human and the prompt argues whether it is a sin or not. The prompt states that people who believe that greed is a good characteristic believe that greedy people are more hardworking because they want more money, whereas people who believe that greed is a bad characteristic associate greediness with selfishness and unkindness. Personally, I believe that greed is a bad characteristic for many reasons. I will explore these reasons in the essay.

I agree that greedy people are selfish who are driven by money and the primary purpose of their actions is to become wealthier. Consequently, they lose focus of more important things in their lives like family, friends or health. Let us consider a business person who works round the clock because he wants a higher bank balance. As a result, he leaves home at the break of dawn and reaches home late at night and thus, spends very little time with his family. In such a scenario, he is only concerned about himself and is not paying attention to his family. His children are devoid of a paternal presence in their family. The selfish nature of the business person to earn more money leads him to digress from his family.

Moreover, greedy people are highly likely to be deceitful. They would do anything to make more money. To illustrate this point, consider the numerous scandals that we see in the news everyday. Scandals on financial frauds and corruption stem out of greed for more money, and sometimes more power. The only reason that these people get caught is because they are never content with the money and power that they have. When one is content, they are less likely to cross moral and ethical lines in their lives. Greediness leads to blurred moral lines and hence, leads to unethical behaviour.

The prompt suggests that greed is a good characteristic because greedy people are generally more hardworking that people who are not greedy. I disagree with the statement because when we see greedy people in leadership positions, they are rarely hardworking. They tend to exploit the people who work for them by forcing them to work for extra hours and hence create a toxic work culture. In such a scenario, the greedy leader might see success in short-term but eventually, his/her greed will be the cause for his/her tragic downfall.

In conclusion, I think that greed is a bad characteristic because greedy people are driven by money and they are likely to deceive the people to get that money. Moreover, rather than being hardworking, they exploit the people who work for them to be successful.