Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

Environmental and food quality are two important issues that people keep focusing on, nowadays a new discussion over whether people should keep using wrong agricultural ways to provide food for people or they should stop to protect their environment. In my opinion, I believe guaranteeing the environment is in a balanced state is more vital, because without it, people’s food quality would be decreased more seriously.

Firstly, polluted soil could make crops toxic for people. Misusing pesticides is one of the most harmful agricultural pollution. Without learning relevant knowledge, farmers blindly use various of pesticides to kill worms, which could lead to the contamination to soils. According to the newest record from the Peking University, soils beneath most of farmlands contain five times chemical heavy metal elements that cannot be digested by humans more than they should. From the report we can conclude that if we let go agricultural contamination, there would be no safeguards for people’s meals, and those toxic elements could make people be sick and even threats to their lives. There are many examples in arid places where arable soils are much less than other places. With the irrigation of pesticides, those soils always contain even more toxic elements, leading to more dangerous crops. So, people living on there tend to lose their hairs and may be dizzy if they eat too much rice. So unscientific irrigation methods can make people get sick.

Meanwhile, contaminated soil can reduce the fertility of lands, leading to insufficient food supply. Another serious pollution is due to over-planting. People’s population has been increasing for many years, and to satisfy the demands of food for more people, farmers do not obey natural conventions, instead, they increase their frequency of harvest and choose farmlands randomly as long as seeds can survive. Such behaviors exhaust nutrition in the soil, so crops cannot live on there anymore, farms’ production is declining. For example, in many developing countries, people used to regard food as the most vital resource, so they blindly planted crops all over their country. Several years ago people finally realized that their farmlands could not feed them anymore because their lands were damaged by their unreasonable planting method, they could only import food and their developments were paused. That is we cannot only focus on production at the present.

In conclusion, preventing the environment from agricultural pollution is more important because it ensures the both the safety of people’s food and the production of farmer’s crops in the long run.