Nowadays, parents don't have the time to play with their children anymore. What activity should they ask the children to do during the period: have fun playing games/sports, or spend time with schoolwork?

It is true that the social situation of modern world makes both parents work and hence have less time for their children. Although some people think that parents should use this limited time to do things related to schoolwork, I believe they should use this time to have fun with their children. Playing strengthens parents and child relationship and helps both of them. Moreover, parents have the option to employ a tutor if their child needs help with schoolwork.

Playing sport and outside activities can play a positive effect on child and parents relation. Without it, children might feel lonely and unhappy. So the parents should use their limited time with utmost consideration. Being unhappy or feeling lonely can affect child's performance in school. For example, if a child feels lonely, he or she might not listen to the teacher lecture in class which finally results in low grades.

Similarly, parents can also benefit from playing with their children. After hours of working in office or company, it is reasonable that the children find them reluctant to help them with the schoolwork while playing sport outside or having fun is quite tempting for any person. So, parents will participate to be happier and energetic.

On the other hand, if the parents feel that their child needs help with the schoolwork, they should consider employing a tutor for their child because they can not offer their child a professional help and it may exacerbate the problem. Their time is limited but a child needs a sustainable help to progress in his or her schoolwork. Consider a situation where a child is weak in his mathematics and parents decide to spend their limited time to help him, first they should take some time to remember course material and then they start helping him. But a child who has an exam needs immediate help, he or she cannot wait until his or her parents be ready for help.

In sum, using limited time playing sport is a more profitable option for both children and their parents as I stated in previous lines. Nonetheless, parents are not specialized in every matter so they should put this responsibility to someone who is qualified.