The only effective way to encourage energy conservation is to increase prices of gasoline and electricity

Nowadays, with the rise of people’s living standard, government attaches greater importance to saving energy as it exerts a positive effect on people’s life. The controversy is surrounding that how to encourage people to conserve energy. Some people are of the point that the only approach is to increase the price of gasoline and electricity in order to strengthen people’s awareness. In my opinion, however, it is not a preferable solution for this problem.

Admittedly, high prices enable people to be more cautions when using consuming energy. However, it will only work on a small portion of people who are tight economically. For the most of the population, like the middle class and the rich, the function of this proposal is limited. There are more effective solutions to save energy other than raising the prices of the gasoline and electricity.

One of the most interesting way, as well as the most popular one, which demands a keen contemplation for government is to promote the clean energy. For the tradition fuel, the amount of it is restricted which means it will be used up sooner or later. However, clean energy and regenerable energy are abundant. In order to encourage people to use this type of energy, the government ought to offer subsidies to the people who are willing to use them and the company which are developing and researching on the clean energy. For example, Tesla is a very company which create vehicles that use electricity as the fuel, setting up an excellent model for utilizing regenerable resource. Moreover, besides rewarding for people who make efforts, government can also punish the factories and individuals who emit the exhausted air resulting from using traditional fuel. This can also raise people’s awareness of using clean fuels.

Another noteworthy solution of the ongoing discussion which needs to mention here is that government should strengthen people’s awareness of energy protection. Part of the reason why people waste so much energy is that they are clueless about how urgent is it to save them and they also doubt about the power of individual’s effort. Government can utilize the social media to disseminate the idea of making efforts to save energy from now on, because it will benefit for their offspring. They ought to remind people that individual’s effort matters by showing them the exact number that how much resources and trees they can save just by taking buses two days a week or turn off the light immediately when they finish. Consequently, people will form the habit to not waste resources and cherishing every energy, forming a virtuous circle.

From what has been discussed, raising the price is not the only solution to save energy, because promoting clean energy and strengthening citizen’s awareness are more advantageous.