In order to attract more tourists the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets Which way do you think is more effective

A glance at people’s attitude toward tourism, brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether safety is more important or the city appearance. Although some people believe that cities’ appearance and looking is what they want to travel a country, I completely think opposite. As a person who has visited five countries recently, my opinion is that safety must be the priority because of several reasons.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that security is one of the first and basic needs that humankinds want. If a person feels that the rate of rape, theft and burglary is high, he will not consider that country for travel. There is some evidence that proves my idea. For example, during the Iraq’s war the tourist population decreases to one third even if it was easier to get visa. After finishing the war, tourist population gradually increased even though the appearance of the Iraq’s cities still was bad. A study at Harvard University shows that individuals prefer to have journey to the safe and sound countries. Therefore, safety is the essential part of tourism market.

Another reason that I should deem is the fact that without safety, troublemakers destroy the historical places despite of government attempts. For instance, even if the government build a new shopping mall, they break the glasses and ruin the public area. Without enough police, nobody can control this situation and it is waste of money. This happened in Egypt when people were not satisfied of political activities of government and destroyed some part of the countries to show their dissatisfaction. The amounts of tourists dropped significantly during strikes and the city appearance got very damaged. Hence, hiring more police can protect historical places.

Admittedly, people would like to see beautiful attractions such as museums, palaces and aquariums. A safe town without any fabulous location is dreadful for people to visit. Nevertheless, when we compare two cities one safe and not beautiful, and the other beautiful and not safe, people are more willing to visit the first one.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I strongly recommend the government to spend budget on safety and hire more police rather than repairing old buildings and streets to improve its appearance.