Parents should not express their disagreements to the teacher if parents find the teaching method incorrect.

Parents and teachers always play the essential roles in a child’s education. It is important for them to keep in touch and exchange opinions about the way of helping the child. People hold diverging views concerning about the issue whether the parents should express their disapproval to the teachers when parents find disapproval of the ways teachers are teaching their children. So from my perspective, parents should voice their disagreements to the teacher if they find the teaching method is wrong.

First and foremost, it will have a beneficial effect on the child if parents can express their opinions. Since teachers always respect the suggestions from parents, once they receive negative feedback, they will immediately adjust the old methods. In that way, the students may be inspired by the new way of teaching. For example, when I studied world history, the teacher just retold the rudimentary knowledge on the textbook in class, which was quite monotonous and the homework she assigned to us was to memorize those special historical events by rote. My classmates and I felt it was difficult to remember all those details and relationship between them. As a result, we lost the interest in learning history and got low credits. When my mother knew the situation, she thought that the teacher should be responsible for it because his method was incorrect. Thus she had a small conversation with our history teacher and expressed her thoughts. She also gave some advice from her perspective. After that, the teacher altered his way of teaching. He added much interesting knowledge such as some rarely known stories behind the big events which we had a strong curiosity about. What’s more, the assignments changed from rote memorization to making posters. We could not only review the knowledge but also sharpen our imagination. Finally, we rekindled the passion for learning history and did much better in the exams. So it is conducive to the students if their parents can propose their advice to the teacher.

In addition, teachers can improve their teaching skills if parents make them aware of their problems. When the teacher is using inappropriate methods, the students will probably learn in an inefficient way and make little progress. Then the unsatisfactory teaching performance will lead to a bad impact on the evaluation of the teacher. However, if the students’ parents point out the problem, correction can be made in time. By ameliorating the teaching methods, the teacher will enable impart knowledge in a better way and may have job promotion.

Admittedly, sometimes there is a divergence between parents and the teachers because people may have different understandings of a feasible teaching method. So some parents don’t want to share their opposite ideas with the teacher due to the worries of breaking their relationship. But actually, most of the teachers can face the advice with an open mind. Even though the teacher doesn’t take the suggestion, the relationship between the teacher and the parents won’t be influenced.

From what I mentioned above, we can draw the conclusion that parents should express their disagreement if they find the teaching method is wrong since it helps both the students and the teacher.