People attend university and college for many different reasons, Why do you think people go to university?
University is no longer a fresh word to people nowadays. Since the beginning
of this century, more and more youngsters choose to enter university after they
have completed the study in high schools rather than to join the army or
become an apprentice. Therefore, it is kind of interesting to find out the reason
behind.
First of all, students can only learn fundamental knowledge during high school
while they are able to focus on their own interested majors in universities. This
period is the key to knowledge accumulation, which will contribute a lot to the
future of an individual. Moreover, university is no doubt the symbol of high
education. It offers more than pure knowledge. A degree from a university
gives people certain identity that makes them stand out among their
competitors. It can be seen from the fact that most international companies will
only hire those who have at least a Bachelor's degree in China.
But, as far as I know, sincere dreams might also be the reason for university or
college. For instance, in the 60s and 70s, people in China experienced hard
times. Many of them had to give up advanced education and take up the
burdens of life at their early age. Now, as they became parents or even
grandparents, their dream for university education had no doubt realized by
their younger family members. Those young people, as reported, often study
very hard in order to fulfill the expectations of two generations.
There is no doubt that university can be the turning point of one's future,
because higher education will provide people with not only knowledge
prepared for their careers, but also the fulfillment of their life goals. Meanwhile,
the society has improved its strength to sponsor higher education. Compared
with the past, people now attend universities also because they are able to
secure various scholarships and supports from different channels. A very good
example is that many Chinese students are now studying in the U. S. Their
incentive for application should be attributed to not only to their own
performance but also the comprehensive education frameworks in the U. S.
Broadly speaking, people who study in universities have their hopes: to fulfill
themselves. At the same time, our society generously provides such an
environment for people to achieve such goals. Therefore, when we see more
and more fresh smiles on the campus of universities, let us just wish them a
promising future.