People who cannot accept criticism will not succeed working in teams

Currently, due to the fierce competition in society, people attach greater importance to achieving success. When it comes to team working, controversy surrounds whether people should accept criticisms in order to succeed. Some people are of the point that people ought to stick to themselves and not care the external judgements. In my opinion, however, it is advantageous for people to accept criticism in a team due to the following reasons.

One of the interesting aspect of the current discussion which demands a keen contemplation is that critiques equips people with the ability to enhance their abilities. Everyone has their own strengths and weakness. Even though the strengths may be conspicuous to ourselves, people have a hard time realizing their drawbacks once they are immersed in. Having other people who can point out the weakness offers you a great chance to know yourself better. By listening to other people’s opinion, people have the chances to see things from a different perspective, enabling them to think things thoroughly. If their criticisms make sense, it will enable people to promote and upgrade themselves, resulting in a higher possibility to succeed in career. If the criticisms doesn’t make sense, they can still know how other people think which will be beneficial in the future. As you can see, listening to criticisms does no harm to people’s work.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing discussion which needs to reflected is that accepting criticisms expand people’s social network. People always have a good impression who are willing to listen to us. By accepting coworker’s opinion, people can leave a favorable impression on their colleagues, like easy-going, humble, not-stubborn. All these is beneficial for people to maintain a harmonious relationship with their colleagues. Moreover, through the process of exchange ideas and advices, people are able to know more people in their fields who may help them in the future, like some boss in the industry who may offer you new jobs and opportunities. Conversely, supposing that there is a person who never listen to other people’s opinion nor accept criticisms, the development of him would be limited, as he shut down all the opportunities to know people.

Admittedly, sometimes insisting ourselves is one kind of perseverance. However, listening to coworker’s opinion and even criticisms is harmless to one’s development and improvement.

From what have been discussed, accepting criticisms is favorable due to the benefits it generates to people’s capability and social network.