To preserve old historic buildings vs to replace them with new modern buildings

With economic growth and urbanization, there has been substantial progress in building skyscrapers and new landmarks. More and more ancient buildings are demolished in order to improve economic growth. However, I still believe that preserving old buildings is more advantageous for both government and citizens. I will explain the benefits of preserving old buildings in the following essay.

First, preserving old buildings can help the government to save on construction costs, which is crucial for the government. Since most governments are concerned about budget control, preserving old buildings might be conducive for the government. Generally, money spent on preserving old buildings is far less compared to tearing down buildings and constructing new ones. For example, if we are going to preserve an old building such as Confucius temple, all we have to do are just painting the walls and reinforcing the structure. In contrast to constructing new buildings, maintaining old constructions assists the government to spend less money and better control the budget.

Second, the development of a city is highly related to the reputation of the local government. Historical buildings play a key role in attracting more tourists, which will support the development of the city. According to a recent survey, people love ancient buildings because they find it mysterious and worth visiting. A famous historical building in Taiwan demonstrates this idea. The stunning historical building has brought hundreds of thousands of travelers to the city. Consequently, tourists bought souvenirs from museums, dined in restaurants, and stayed in nearby hotels. All of these contribute to economic growth. As a result, the city now has a reputation for being prosperous and fascinating, which definitely improves the reputation of the government.

Finally, historical buildings can also reveal the culture of the city. Old buildings teach us about the events happened in the past and promote the respect for people who live from different time periods. For example, a famous fortress in Damsui built in the seventeenth century reveals the era when Taiwan was colonized by Spanish people. This site can serve as an educational purpose, where people can visit and learn about the cultural background. In fact, a historical site is not only a building but also a wonderful place for us to learn about the influence of cultural events.

In conclusion, preserving old buildings is extremely important for the government. This is because it reduces the construction costs, boosts economic growth and reveals the culture of the city. All of these add value to the government.