Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge

of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that the ability of the teacher to relate well with students would be beneficial for students. However, I personally disagree that the ability of the teacher to connect to her students supersedes the teacher's knowledge of the subject she is teaching. There are many reasons for my argument which I will elaborate in the paragraphs below.

To begin with the point that students mostly do not enrol into advanced classes because they like the teacher but in fact they wish to study the subject well. In this situation, if the teacher is not well versed in her subject then the students would most likely lose interest in it. Of course my opinion is profoundly affected by my own personal experience. When I was in class 11, I enrolled for advanced trignometry classes as I had enjoyed studying trignometry in Class 10. To my dismay, the mathematics teacher was extremely kind but did not have a thorough understanding of the concepts and thus was unable to teach us. My grade 10 teacher in contrast was very strict but knew exactly how to explain the concepts to us. Clearly this example proves my position that simply creating a rapport with student will not interest them in classes.

Secondly, a teacher is not responsible for connecting with the students emotionally. A teacher has the responsibility of passing on the knowledge she has expertise of. To relate with the troubles of the students is the job for the counsellors of the school. Teachers are meant to teach their respective subjects to students well and to ensure that the concepts are clear. This doesn't mean that they necessarily have to be rude or strict but they should be able to discipline

their students. For emotional support the students should contact their assigned supervisors or counsellor. In my college, we were each assigned a counsellor who wasn't our teacher. If we faced any troubles or needed guidance we approached our counsellors while if we had any doubts in the subjects we were learning we approached our teachers. Therefore, its evident that teachers must fulfil their role of delivering the best knowledge they can while mentors must look out to connect to students so as to monitor their emotional standards.

Lastly, teachers are not awarded for being the best support of their students but in fact for the academic success of their students. In other words, even schools and colleges understand that a teacher is best judged by the fact that she can convey her knowledge well to her students and not that the teacher's students are extremely happy by her friendly and kind behaviour. For example, in my school, my English teacher won the best teacher award for consecutively 5 years. She was known to be extremely strict and harsh to students but was also encouraging to study and taught well. Everyone always hoped that they would be able to get her as their English professor. In short, even teachers are evaluated on their ability on being experts in their fields and successfully training their students also.

Thus I strongly believe that professors with excellent knowledge should be preferred than teachers who can relate well with students. As explained students wish to learn from their teachers and if they emotional support they can

talk to their mentors.