Reading is more educational than watching television or movies.

There are many ways that we can obtain knowledge, such as the use of learning apps in our smartphones, studying using an online course or gaining knowledge from experience. Some people argue that watching a film is an educational way to learn and more valuable than reading a book. Personally, I believe that reading is the best method to improve our skills. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Reading gives people a chance to learn how the words are spelled. Although they may have heard a word in the past, it is possible that they might not recognize the spelling when encountered it in a text. For example, about a month ago, I was reading a book called The Big Short, about the financial crisis of 2008 in the United States. During my reading, I faced a myriad of "new" words. Later, I searched for those words in the dictionary and I found that I had heard them before; however, I did not know how to write them. In contrast, when I watched the movie about the book, I did not learn any new vocabulary, because I was just passively watching the film.

Secondly, reading is more mentally active than watching shows on a screen. That is to say, when watching something, it is not necessary to imagine how the scene looks. The mind can wander while watching a movie, and still have a general picture of what is happening. For instance, when I was watching the Big Short movie, I did not have to imagine the environment, nor how the actors look. It was all there for me through the stunning film on the screen. Meanwhile, reading the book required my full attention. I had to imagine the scene, so I literally had to put my brain to work. My mind could not wander when I was reading the book, like it did when watching the film. Moreover, I really needed to concentrate on the words and figure out how they sounded in other to comprehensively understand the story.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that reading it is much more educational than just watching a show on your magic screen at home. This is because reading can teach how to spell the words and is an active way to learn something new, requiring full attention.