Recently several cities have made it a rule that teachers will give primary school students (aged 5-10) no more than 30 minutes of homework per night, because the students get enough instruction during the regular school day. Do you agree or disagree with this rule? Why?

The vast majority of people agree that education is very important for children. Personally, I agree with the idea that teachers should not assign primary school students more than 30 minutes of homework per night. There are several reasons why I feel this way, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

To begin with, this rule helps students have a healthier lifestyle. If they have less homework per night, they will have more time to relax. They can sleep more and do some exercises, so they can reach a healthier mental condition. Additionally, they can spend time with their family and friends, and do some recreation activities, such as watching amusing movies or having a lovely picnic. Doing so enables them to build intimate relationships with others and relieve their stress. As a result, they might be more energetic and be able to concentrate on their studies at school.

Furthermore, children can use their night time to explore their hobbies and learn extra skills. In primary school students’ ages, they can learn new knowledge rapidly. Beside doing assignments, it is an exceptional idea to let them gain some new information through extracurricular activities, such as playing sports and playing music. By doing these, they can expand their knowledge and find their favorite hobbies. My cousin Oliver is a compelling example of this. When he was an elementary school student, he attended piano classes every night. He said that this experience really helped him build strong fundamental skills of music and he really loves to play piano now.

Finally, it is very important to train students' interpersonal skills. Knowing how to interact and communicate with people can definitely help them excel in future life and career. Accordingly, with more free time after school, they will be able to hang out with their friends and chat with their family. During the process, they will gradually learn how to treat people well and gain social skills. Consequently, I believe that allowing them to play with their friends is more advantageous than forcing them to do homework all night.

In conclusion, I strongly maintain that children should have limited homework after school. This is because it can help them maintain better living standards, cultivate their hobbies and potential abilities, and improve their people skills.