is risk taking and trying new things important part of being successful?

When addressing success and successful people, each individual has their own specific criteria and we can surely say neither of them are wrong. All that said, I strongly agree with the statement that successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. In my opinion, one's ability to take chances contributes a great deal to their success. I will demonstrate my reasons as follows;

Firstly, trying new things expands a person's thinking horizons and develops their perception of the world around them into a more complex one. therefore, such people can acquire greater adaptation skills to difficult situations, more creative problem solving abilities and of course, the courage to apply them. imagine what would happen if bill gates or steve jobs had been afraid to take a risk and hadn't had the vision that led to their success today.

Secondly, doing what you know very little about rather than what you know how to do well, broadens the spectrum of the individual's knowledge and skills in different areas. For example, if I want to order a red chair from a carpenter, I much rather go to someone who knows about painting the chair, different kinds of chair present in the market, and possibly interior design to give me some useful ideas.

Finally, in my opinion, the ability to exprience and experiment various paths in life and setting no limits for a person's capabilities in their own mind, gives people the confidence to create oppurtunities and move towards success.

In conclusion, I believe that risk taking and trying new things plays an important role in an individual's road to success.