Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation? Why? Use sepecific reasons and details to develop your essay.

People nowadays have to change their location fast in different places. They have to go to work, schools, and markets. So good roads and transportation should be developed. Some people believe that governments should spend more money on improving roads and high ways. Others think that public transportation is more important. In my opinion I believe that improving the public transportation is more important.

To begin with, a good transportation will encourage people to use it. And that would have a great impact on the environment. Since it will make people drive less cars, the thing that will produce fewer exhausts and poisons. Consequently, a healthier environment with less pollution will be the result. For example, two weeks ago, I read an article about the benefits of public transportation, in that article the author emphasizes the switching to public transportation reduces our nation’s carbon emissions by 37 million metric tons annually. This is equivalent to five major cities in the USA stopping using electricity. This reduction in carbon emission is a good reason to let the government improve the public transportation.

In addition, public transportation saves money. In fact, using public transportation is the quickest way to beat high gas prices. And it provides an affordable, and for many, necessary alternative to driving. For instance, I saw a documentary at the TV. which was discussing the benefits of using the public transportation in saving money. The documentary asserts that a two- person household can save more than 10000$ by downsizing to one car. It should be an attractive option to government and individuals to take regarding saving money.

Last but not least, public transportation reduces traffic congestion and comforting citizens from traffic related stress. Therefore investing money in improving public transportation will get benefits in saving people’s time and nerves.in a matter of facts, researches have shown that public transportation use saved a huge number of hours.

To sum up, government should support projects and ideas about improving public transportation because its benefits are much more than supporting roads and highways. Since it serves environmental purposes and saves money and time. And we in our turns should spread awareness about benefits of public transportation and its valuable advantages.