Should people do things that they do not like?

The ultimate goal of every human being in life is happiness. There some situations that contradict this goal such as doing things that are enjoyable for people. The controversial question that arises in this regard is that should people do unpleasant things. While some people are inclined toward the idea that doing unlikeable things benefits people, others are against this viewpoint. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that doing things that we do not like have many advantages. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first reason coming to my mind is that tasting unpleasant things gives us enormous valuable first-hand experiences and knowledge that would benefit us in the future. It is undeniable fact that life consists of sweetness and bitterness that means life is not a purely joyful experience. We will definitely confront some hard situations that require us to have patience and previous experiences to deal with such situations. Therefore, former tough and unpleasant circumstances would be the best weapon to cope with some difficulties. My own experience is a compelling example of this. During my teenage years, I forced by my parents to go to the capital of our country to continue my studies. At first, it was extremely tough as I had to manage all my life by myself. However, this situation made me an independent person who was successful in living in a foreign country with a myriad of hardships.

Another noteworthy reason is that it offers people an opportunity to find a wide variety of aspects of their personality including weaknesses and strengths which will be a gateway to a successful life. When experiencing new unpleasant things you put yourselves in situations that oblige you to contemplate deeply to find a solution for them. Thus, not only some of your latent talents flourish, but also by evaluating your flaws and values you are able to develop new skills. Conversely, without any doubt, if you do not leave your comfort zone you never know the hidden parts of yourselves. Back to pervious example, during living away from my family, I found how tenacious, and determined I am, while before that I thought I am a weak girl who always needs her parent's support.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I can conclude that by doing the things that we do not like not only we can gain numerous invaluable experiences that assist us in the future, but also it is one of the best ways to know ourselves deeply.