Some companies decide not to allow employees to discuss business by sending mails or messages on weekends. Some people believe that this policy is great. Others believe that this policy will discourage employees. What is your opinion and why?

Whether a company should allow an employee to discuss business by sending messages during the weekends arouses a heated debate. Some people believe that the policy is fantastic, while others argues that this regulation will discourage employees. For me, I disagree with such a policy. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, companies should place an emphasis on workers' health, and not permitting them to talk about businesses via emails or texts helps them improve their health. As an example, my sister's financial company established a regulation similar to the one mentioned in the statement. As a result, every workers in her firm can take a full rest on Sunday and Saturday, such as hiking with their families or playing video game with their friends. Eventually, no one in her company has any mental health problems. On the other hand, my technological company, called AIdea, enacted a policy about allowing engineers to exchange machine learning model ideas during the weekday. Since engineers were concerned about their performance, they decided to train their deep learning models during the weekend. Nevertheless, such a malicious competition lead to numerous workers staying up late, and in the long run, nearly half of the workers become less encourage due to the fact that they got mental diseases like insomnia and depression.

In addition, companies focus on employees' working efficiency, but allowing them to discuss businesses on weekends will discourage employees and stifle their working efficient. Take my father's financial company as an example. His organization's policy allows workers to access customers' databases via Gmail in Saturday. However, most workers feel that they have plenty of times analyzing customers' behavior, so they often procrastinated. Eventually, the company's working efficiency was ranked last by many financial magazines in his region. On the other hand, my friend, Todd, was a cybersecurity consultant in An-Hua Security Firm, and his company's policy prohibited him from sending confidential business emails to his supervisors during the weekend. Therefore, when Todd was analyzing malicious network traffics during the workdays, he must fully concentrate on his missions since he could not bring his tasks home. Therefore, Todd could usually complete his weelky tasks before Wednesday due to his attentiveness, improving his motivation to work.

In conclusion, I maintain that allow employees to discuss business through messages or texts during the weekends discourages employees due to the aforementioned reasons.