Some lessons for young students (5~8 years old) increase their interest to learn including video games. But some people believe it will distract young student. What is your opinion? Why?

In this modern day and age, thanks to recent advancements in technology, gaming consoles are becoming more and more affordable for families. Therefore, the rate at which consoles are becoming widespread is alarmingly on the rise. A question that might arise is that whether video games negatively impact children's disposition towards educational material or not. Though this question is yet to be answered definitely, I utterly subscribe to this idea that perhaps playing video games to a moderate extent can enhance children's attraction to learning. To discuss this, there are several advantages and setbacks, one from each, are explained in detail in the following.

First and foremost, when children play video games, their overall brain activity increases drastically. To be more precise, when playing video games, both of their brains' hemispheres get involved on a significant level. As a consequence, certain parts of the neural network of their brain strengthen. This results in an enhancement in their learning capability. It goes without saying that one of the main reasons that some students are reluctant to learning academic subjects stems from the fact that they feel like they are not learning as efficiently as they should and this, in fact, discourages them from learning. Recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yielded several statistics one of which illustrates that one of the main causes that children believe their learn efficacy is low is that, in fact, some parts of their brain have not developed yet to absorb the material properly. Playing video games can be a good means to help young children to be more attracted to learning.

On the other hand, sometimes video games might make the children lazy. It is no secret that once children start playing video games, they don't feel like doing anything else because it is so much fun in comparison to other stuff. Since young children are unable to prioritize important tasks, they will play and play until they feel really tired. I am of the strong conviction that most children believe playing video games excites them more than learning activities of any kind. As a result, this excessive amount of playing videogames definitely adversely affects their concentration levels since even though they might be doing something else, they are constantly thinking about getting back in front of their console because the previous experiences were something else. Thus, even when they are asked to focus on a certain educational activity, they simply can't because they are too obsessed with playing video games each and every hour. If parents do not snap into action as quickly as possible, it might be too late to reverse this dire trend.

To wrap it up, contemplating on what was discussed above, I am of the opinion that playing videogames only moderately can improve the attraction to learn in young children between five and eight because on the one hand, playing videogames actively engages certain parts of their brain that is directly associated with their capability to learn but on the other hand, they might delve so deep into the world of videogames that mentally speaking, there would be no space left for them to put time and effort into anything else.