Some people believe that parents should pay their children a small amount of money to do jobs around the home (such as washing the dishes or taking out the garbage), while other people believe that parents should not pay their children to do these tasks. Which view do you agree with, and why?

Parenting is one of the most challenging experiences. Every day parents encounter different circumstances, making decisions with accepting their consequences. Although undoubtedly assigning children some household tasks is necessary can increase their responsibility, the question which may come up at this point is whether parents should pay their children chores allowance or not. Opponents may bring up raising unreal expectations as the demerit of this payment, while proponents claim that its benefits outweigh. I strongly agree to pay for doing household chores not only as a way to teach money management but also an external motivation.

Firstly, children should learn life skills from early ages in the family; money management is an essential one and includes earning, saving and spending. Therefore, parents can pay their children some amount of money in turn for doing routine tasks of the house like doing the wishes, tidying their bedrooms, and other chores in order to teach them this fact that money is earned by working. Furthermore, earning and saving money bit by bit is a businesslike practice to prepare children for their future professional work. They will save and spend their money more cautiously provided that they make effort to earn it.

Second, household tasks are inevitable personal activities for everyone. Chore allowance can be stimulating for contributing regularly in the family. When they earn in turn of their duties, they feel more independent and responsible. This can be their first experience of a real paid-work. Moreover, parents can make a list of chores and the price of doing them and pay more money for the more difficult tasks, illustrating the direct relationship between effort and money and productivity value of hard work.

All in all, chores allowance is a practical tool to teach children money management, responsibility, and productivity despite the fact that it can imply that only the paid one is worthy works. even if someone does not want to link the children’s pocket money to their routine duties, It is recommended to encourage them to do an extra work at home or a Saturday job to earn money by their own and benefit from its merits.