Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Attending university is an important part of many people’s lives and it can affect their future a lot. Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes; others would disagree. In my view attending classes should be optional rather than required for the following reasons.

First and foremost, many students have to work and they do not have enough time to spend in classes. For example, when I was in university in New-York my roommate’s father was died in a car accident and as she was the oldest child of the family, she had to work to help her mother. Thus, she could not attend classes and so the made her to leave the university and it was really awful because I knew how much she loved to study and she had to abandon the idea of being an architect. As you can see, by forcing the students to attend classes, we give the opportunity of being successful from some of them that cannot be present and use classes but we can give them a chance to have a better life.

Another reason is that, if attending classes be optional, teachers have to try hard to encourage students to attend classes and so, we can evaluate the teacher’s ability to attract the students to study too. For example, about a weeks ago I read in a newspaper that there was a study in two university in Germany. In the first one, they make the students to attend classes and on the second one attending classes was optional. At the end of the semester the use the same exams to evaluate the students and it shows that when attending classes was optional, students get better results and they showed that in the second one not only teachers try harder to convince the students to attend classes, but also students were present in the classes by their own wish so their efficiency increased.

Another reason is that they should give the students opportunity to think about their future lives and try to make decisions. By forcing the students to attend classes not only we do not help them, but also we deprive them from thinking about their lives. For example when I was in university I never think about my future and especially about money. Because my family always supporting me and after graduating I was really confused and I did not know what to do. That is why I think students should be given the chance to think about what they want to do.

In sum, though some people may believe that students are not mature enough to make decisions, not only can they think about their future, but also it is not always possible to make them attend classes and we should think of their situations and in this way, teachers work better too. In my view, changing some old rules are really needed because of the conditions that students are really struggling with such as money that it is really important for most of them.