Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer job is the important part of society since it helps people to understand the value of providing support to others. However, making it prescribed for youngsters is the different story. Personally, I believe that students from high school should not be required to carry out unpaid service with out-of-pocket expenses. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, young individuals need to concentrate on their lesson, so they can maximize their learning. During high school years, young people confront a huge load of assignments and exams, which signifies they are mainly hectic. However, if these learners are forced to do other things such as volunteer job, they will be significantly sidetracked from their study. As a result, their grade and attendance may diminish. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, when I was senior of high school, members of my school required all students to be involved in unpaid service to graduate the school. Then, I and my classmates spent nearly two weeks to finish this job instead of preparing for final exams. Therefore, some of my classmates failed several exams because of wasting their invaluable time for volunteer job. This example demonstrates the negative impact of impelling pupils to do volunteer job on learners who are busy to learn concepts of academic disciplines.

Secondly, forcing people to do unpaid job might discourage them to be involved this type of activity later on because they cannot comprehend the true value of volunteer job. When teachers or other employees of educational organizations require adolescences to carry out this kind of work, they tend to do it in an unpleasant way such as punishing. Therefore, juveniles might associate the volunteer job with their negative experiences, so they are unlikely to accomplish this job afterwards. For instance, last year, when my teacher start reducing my classmates’ grades for not doing unpaid job, my study partners mentioned that they lost their opportunity to receive fine scores by virtue of unpaid job. Furthermore, they claimed that they will never interfere with unpaid job anymore. To sum up, requiring young people to achieve so-called volunteer job may daunt these juveniles to do these things in the future because of unpleasant result.

In summation, in my humble opinion, I believe that learners must not be forced to carry out unpaid jobs. This is because learners are busy, studying their lesson, and this type of authority will discourage youngsters to do these things voluntarily at the later time.