Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space (for example, traveling to the Moon and to other planets). Other people disagree and think governments should spend this money for our basic needs on Earth. Which of these two opinions do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

With a rapid advance of technology, traveling to other planets is within the reach of human. However, the cost is tremendous and whether government should spend as much money as possible to support out space exploration is a highly debated topic. From my observations of life, I hold the view that government should spend its budget on other projects rather than exploring out space.

To begin with, authority cares about people, so it should spend money to benefit most people. However, exploring out space does not benefit many people. To illustrate, so far only rich people who can afford the out space trip can take advantage of out-space exploration, whereas most people can only read the news of those rich people traveling to the Moon. Nevertheless, if governments spend money on building public libraries, parks, and reducing air pollution, every citizen can be benefited. That is, since government wants to take care of most people, it is not worthy to spend much money on out space exploration.

Secondly, there are many unmet and urgent needs of people, so government should spend money to solve those problems first. For example, many sick people would die because they cannot afford to buy expansive medicines, and government should help those people get treated. Likewise, many children are too poor to obtain education, and authority can use money to help them. In contrast, there is no urgent need for human to get on the Moon. That is, since we can live happily and healthy without out-space exploration, government should spend money on programs that would make people live better immediately.

Last but not least, government is the leader of the country, so it must find ways to make the economy of country strong. Take Singapore as an example. The leader of Singapore spends much money to support industries by building good facilities for the city, reducing the tax of business, and improving the quality of worker’s life. As a result, hundreds of international enterprises move their headquarters to Singapore, and local people acquire good job opportunities. On the other hand, if they invested money on out-space exploring, their economy would not have been as good as it is now.

In summary, I strong argue that the government should allocate its budget on projects that benefit most civilians and fulfill urgent needs of people. Also, it should use the money to strengthen its economy. Consequently, spending on out-space exploration is not worthwhile.