Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space (for example, traveling to the Moon and to other planets). Other people disagree and think governments should spend this money for our basic needs on Earth. Which o

Humans have always looked at the skies, looking for their place among the stars. Should we not try to reach them? Human curiosity is what drives progress and space exploration exceptionally fuels It. Therefore, I think that governments should use as many resources as they can to travel to other planets, and reaching them will be crucial for our future as a species, for the following reasons.

First, it is essential for humans to dream. Our inquisitive nature is the engine for development and indulging it have had revolutionary results in the past. Take as an example smartphones, they were a mere attempt to make computers fit into our pockets, but they ended up providing us instant access to knowledge and connecting us with our loved ones across the world, in fewer words they changed our lives. Think of what we can achieve if we put our brightest minds to work for exploring the cosmos.

Furthermore, we should look for other planets. Because Earth is in such a deteriorated state, it should be clear for us that we must find safety in another planet. Likewise, how long are we going to survive if we keep polluting this planet? Besides, if we want to be preserved as a species, we should think of how probable it is for a natural disaster to end all of the humankind. For instance, let us say that an asteroid collides with our planet, it could potentially end with our legacy forever. But if we were to become an interplanetary species, if all life gets erased from a planet, we could start again with colonies in another one.

For all the points drawn above, in my opinion, governments should heavily invest in space exploration. This would further extend our development, and It also would secure us a future as a species. Must of us have had fantasies of reaching the firmament, we should make it a reality.