Some people think that governments should spend as much money as possible on developing or buying computer technology. Other people disagree and think that this money should be spent on more basic needs. Which one of these opinions do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The debate on how governments should spend money on society has been going for decades. Some people claim that governments should spend money on basic needs such as homes and food while opponents state that money should be invested on developing or buying computer technology. Personally, I strongly believe with the statement because technology is being used more frequently every day on education, jobs, and personal life.

First of all, from an educational point, the way society learns skills has changed in the last few years. Nowadays, formal institutions like college and university are not enough. People need to keep studying on their careers after their graduation and computer technology is important for their development. This is because the world changes very fast and professionals need to study after graduation. If governments invest on this field, it will allow better education for students and professionals. In contrast, if the government spend only on basic needs, it will not help the main problem in the long term.

Secondly, the way people work has changed massively. It is generally believe that the majority of the jobs are now computer based. In consequence, governments should spend money on developing computer technology in order to help society to achieve their responsibilities at work. Every school needs to have computers because students need to learn how to use them. For instance, people from other generations who have not had a proper education on how to use computers have had difficulties to use technology in general. My grandmother is a good example because she has never used a computer before and when her company changed processes she did not know how to use the computer so she got fired.

Finally, from a personal perspective, if governments invest on computers, students will be able to learn how to code. I think is important for everyone to have the possibility to learn a computer language. This skill helps you to think in a different way which can help you in life. For example, if students have the opportunity to learn this, they can learn how to organise their tasks, work on a team and it will be easier for them to learn other languages.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that governments should spend money on computer technology. This is because, society keeps learning after university using computers, computers are used on jobs and coding helps you to think in a different way which can be applied to any field.