Sometimes filmmakers make movies that are based on books.

When a movie is based on a book, some people prefer to read

the book before watching the movie. Other people prefer

to read the book only after they have watched the movie.

Which do you prefer and why?

Without a shadow of a doubt, A great deal of peoples' leisure time is spent on either readings books or watching movies, depending on their hobbies. Nowadays, a myriad of films is directed based on books, and therefore, there are different views on the order of reading the book and watching its movie. I strongly prefer to read a book beforehand watching its film. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First and foremost, choosing the book in the first step provides the reader with a comprehensive view of the original story in tandem with meticulous details. To put it more simply, since the story was initially set out to become a book, its author has endeavored the best to convey their thought through the writings. As a result, all the episodes are minutely described in the book, with an attempt to depict every particular scene thoroughly in the readers' imagination. On the contrary, films scenarios' based on established books customarily miss some hairline elements and specifications, such as the exact environment an event is happening or the appearance of an actor. Moreover, filmmakers might sometimes discard a point that does not seem to be a critical factor in following the flow of the film, yet, ignoring it brings about great confusion for the spectators. My experience is a compelling example of this. I had read Harry Potters' book series before watching its films, and as soon as I started its movies, I noticed the fact that if anyone first sees the shows, undoubtedly, they will be confused, and a host of questions raised about the links connecting different occasions. It is crystal clear why it is better to read the book first hand and see its movies afterward.

Another reason to be mentioned is that sometimes directors intentionally make trivial changes in the base scenario, which might lead the film to a completely different story than its book. In other words, the movie that is representative of a book does not contain the same scenario and flow, and unless one has read the book before, one will not be able to relate them to each other. Hence, the film is not actually based on a book, and it will so become a source of misunderstanding. Moreover, many of the fans of the books are intrigued to watch the books' film because the books were so appealing to them and if the film is not good or has been changed, the plus point for them is that they have already read the original story. On the other hand, when someone sees the film first and does not enjoy it, they will not become interested in the book either because they think the book is like the film, although they are wrong.

Reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, I strongly prefer to read a book sooner than I watch its film.