Sometimes filmmakers make movies that are based on books. When a movie is based on a book, some people prefer to read the book before watching the movie. Other people prefer to read the book only after they have watched the movie.

Which do you prefer and why?

Nowadays, there are a lot of interesting movies based on true stories or based on books, and people prefer to watch these movies because they are more familiar with them. Although many prefer to watch the movie and then read the book that the movie is based on it, personally, I prefer to read the book and then watching the movie. I feel this way for two reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, reading the book and then watching the related movie makes it more interesting. To be more specific, due to the limited time of movies which usually is about ninety minutes, and the costs of making/producing a movie, directors are not able to go to the more details in their movies. thus, it paves the way for me to have more information about characters and be aware of their personalities, hence the movie is more interesting. For instance, five years ago, I had read the little women’s book and last year watched the movie, which was based on the book. during watching the movie, my sister did not have enough concentration on it, thus, she missed some points that need to pay more attention to them to get it, and as a result, she could not understand it very well, and the movie was vague for him. On the other hand, I was a hundred percent aware of characters and know their relationship. In fact, it looked like that I was watching the movie for the second time, and not only I was able to explain the movie to my sister, but it helped me to follow the movie easily and pay more attention to the beautiful and extraordinary nature that movie was made there.

Moreover, when we read a book and then watching a movie that is based on the book, we are able to assess the directors’ abilities. To put it in other words, books are written by professional writers, who have the perfect ability in writing and are enthusiastic to make fantasy and characterization in the story for readers. Therefore, when we watch a movie based on the book, during the story, frequently, we are comparing the movie with what we read before and be aware of the director’s ability to

show

the story. For example, as I mentioned in the example in the past paragraph, the movie was exactly what was in my mind. during reading the book, the author made a lot of situations and locations in my mind, and it is crystal clear that the director of the movie did not know our beliefs, imaging, and expectation of the movie. but, all the locations, relations were completely the same with my mind, and it

shows

me that the director of the movie was a person who not only understand the story very well, but he was able to

the story in the right way.

In concretion, according to all the reasons and the examples, I strongly believe that it is a great idea that we read the book and then watch the movie related to the book. this is because not only it makes the movie more interesting, but it makes us able to assess the director.