Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1.Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study (For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2. Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why?

There is no shortage of debate about how should students spend their time between semesters break. Although many believe it is better for students to take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors, I, on the other hand, believe it is better for students to do volunteer work in the cities or their hometowns. I will address the most discernible reasons why I fell this way in the following.

To begin with, many people attending university in order to be prepared for their future career. Although, students learn many teoritical knowledge in universities, but they do not learn much about how these informations and knowledges works in real world. Thus, having related job to university students not only improves their performance in the class, but also it helps them gain some experience and find better job in future. My own experience is a good example of this. When I was a university student I always got medium grads in all of my major related courses. In my second years of study, one of my professor encouraged me to work in his company as a volunteer. Because he thought all student must have real world experiences during their studying, duo to the fact that it will helps them to understand better in class. I accepted his offer, and after a while to my surprise, I did better in all my classes, because I could easy understand what my professors says and I saw how that information works in real world. Admittedly, after my graduation I had a good resume, hence I found great job in decent company with high salary. This example illustrate that how volunteer job helps student to have better performance in their classes.

Moreover, cities special in developing country can use universities students help to improve their infrastructure. For instance, in my country Iran, university students, specially whom their major is engineer and art, help to improves cities appearance and rebuild and design infrastructure with their supervisor during summer break. However, cities authority do some construction during year, but because Iran is one of the developing country they do not have enough money to complete all of their project. Consequently, students volunteer works help us to have better cities.

In conclusion, it is for all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe doing volunteer works is more beneficial for university students during their semester breaks. This is because it helps them to gain some experience and improve their performance in the class, and because it helps other citizen to have better place to live.