Teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than today

It is not uncommon that with the development of society, people's attitudes towards various occupations has changed a lot. Someone argues that teachers were much more respected than they are today. I am an advocate of this idea, and believe that this change is attributed to the change in roles teachers play in education. Although teachers are not as appreciated as they were before, this new relationship offers an new opportunity for a different teacher-student relationship, which is better for modern education.

First and foremost, the change in how the society values teachers actually reflects people's expectation on them. In old days, education system determined that teachers mainly taught student knowledges solely from textbooks, and they were expected to act as supervisors on students at the same time, leading to a relatively high social status of teachers. However, with the swiftly development of education, teachers are more like friends of students now, and their work involves lots of interactions with students like hearing from them and communicating with them. They are supposed to spur sprits and cultivate high moral values in their students. These new requirements of teachers lead to a more equal student-teacher relationship, in which teachers are no longer considered as someone must be highly respected and valued.

This new status of teachers are of vital significance to modern education. In the past, when they were highly appreciated by the whole society, there were likely to be misunderstandings that teachers were always correct and should always be respected. Ordinary people, including parents, could not argue with their kids' children about ways in which their children are educated, for this would be considered as rude to teachers. The high status of educators made it impossible for their fault to be corrected by others, which is absolutely not good for the students. By contrast, in modern societies, teachers are more like other occupations, providing an equal opportunity for both students and parents to communicate with them freely when necessary, creating a much more friendly environment for the growth of children.

In conclusion, it is not deniable that teachers are not highly valued compared to years before, but I firmly believe this aids in the healthy development of students instead acts as a drawback to the modern society.