TOEFL ESSAY: What are the characteristics of a good Leader?

The closest analogy of good Leader is, is parenting. What do you want ? What makes a good parent? We want to give the best to our child, right from education, opportunities, discipline them whenever it is necessary, and all to grow up and achieve more than we could for ourselves. Similarly, a good leader is one who gives the opportunities to his employees to try and fail, build their self-confidence, education, discipline, all so that they could achieve more.

So, I think the most important characteristic of a good leader is to take risks and responsibilities, make people feel safe, draw them into a circle of trust. But creating trust and safety, especially in uneven economy, means taking on big responsibility.

For all I know, Leadership is a choice and not ranking. An instance to reiterate the statement - When all the Multi-National companies where hit by recession in 2008, Bob, CEO of a company in New York introduced a policy and the way he stated matters a lot. This is what he stated and I quote it - "It's better that we all suffer a little than any one of us suffer a lot." This resulted in boosting the self-confidence in employees and the morale went up. Company had to save 10 million dollar. But they were able to save 20 million dollar. When there is a great leader, the natural reaction is Trust and Co-operation.

Furthermore, another important trait for good leader is Humility. Great leaders are strong and decisive, but also humble at the same time. There are myriad examples from the history of mankind. One of the best example for great leader is Mahatma Gandhi, who believed in Non- Violence movement in order to get freedom for the nation which was a success. Added to this, we can never forget Mother Teresa who was great leader known for her innumerable service to the society which is why she is called as Mother.

In conclusion, I believe that a good leader is one who leads, who takes responsibility, who takes risks, who earns people's trust, who has ideas and put them into actions, stay focused and work for it until he gets damn good at it.