TOP38

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether leadership is intrinsic characteristic and people could not learn it by themselves aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that leadership comes naturally which means one cannot learn to be a leader, while others have a negative attitude toward this point of view. As far as I am concerned, I am in agreement with the latter group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first vital point to be mentioned is that as leadership, people should possess some valuable skills which can be learned by education. Some skills like how to manage some tough situation, how to communicate with group members, and make a wise decision on time. All of these skills mentioned could be learned by practicing. If you want to manage difficulties you can learn it through experiencing many hardships during your work as a leader or by studying book about others experiences, the communication skills can improve over time by interacting with many people, as time goes, you learn what the best decision is in every situation. As you see, none of these important features of leadership are innate abilities. Therefore, without any doubt, we can claim the leadership is not intrinsic.

In approaching this issue apart from the reason given above, another reason that deserves some words is that there are many cases that were shy or even the introvert people and one specific event change their life to choose as a leader and many of them confess they learn this ability over time. To shed light on this issue, take Mirza Kuchak Chan as a real example. I had read the biography of Mirza Kuchak Chan, he was a leader of the revolution that happens in my country in the 19th century. He was a reticent and introverted child who could not connect with his peers. Nevertheless, as he grew up, he gained confidence and social skills. Due to his friend trusts him, they choose him as the leader. Finally, he became the leader of one of the important events in our history. As a result, if he was born as leadership, he must not the problem of many skills related to leadership.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that leadership is not natural ability because some prominent skills that every leader needs to can be learned by training and experiencing. Moreover, there many examples of brilliant leaderships in history who were not born as a leader and became a leader over time.