TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There has been considerable debate about the importance of sports and social activities in college and universities. In my opinion, sports and social activities should be considered equally important as the classes and libraries are considered. I feel this way because of two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, sports and social activities will help students in their studies. It is commonly said that healthy mind stays in healthy body. So, students should be encouraged to involve in more physical activities so that they can concentrate more on their studies. I can give my personal example to support this. In my school days, I was captain of my school football team. Even though, I was actively involved in sports, my grades were never compromised because of sports but I believe that sports helped to concentrate more on studies. But now in college, I am not involved in any sports activities and I can feel I could not concentrate much on studies as I was in school days.

Further, sports and social activities help in social development of students. We learn leadership qualities, how to do teamwork, to keep patience even when we lose, to always have confidence in yourself and many other good qualities. Involving in social activities help you to build confidence to come forward with your ideas and how to persuade people if you feel that your idea can be helpful for others. For example, my brother was actively involved in social activities and sports during his college times and these things help him to build confidence and inculcated leadership qualities in him. When he started his career after graduation, everyone at his work place were so impressed with his leadership qualities and confidence that he was always considered as leading person for any project work.

In conclusion, I, strongly, believe that sports and social activities should be given equal importance and financial support as to classes and libraries. This is because these help students to concentrate more on studies and because these lead to social development of students.