TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

People have different ideas about the issue of whether the university should spend money on sports and social activities like classes and libraries. Some people believe that it is better to spend more money on classes and provide more books for students rather than using money for activities. Others would not agree with this idea. In my view, students need both activities and libraries in their studies. Therefore, the university should spend money equally on both of them. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, activities and sports will strengthen students’ minds and bodies that enable them to learn more effectively. It is no doubt that the purpose of students to go to the university is to gain knowledge as much as possible. However, as you know education is more and more difficult. Students have to take numerous courses and accomplish a lot of school work on a certain time. Therefore, getting stress is inevitable. The best way to get rid of stress is to participate in some activities or play sports. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in nursing college, whenever I was tired or getting stress because of studies I went to activity room and played table tennis. After about fifteen minutes of playing and shouting, I always felt comfortable and came back to study.

Alongside the elaborated reason above, another idea is noteworthy to consider is that playing sports or doing some activities will bring students good health. Obviously, people can do nothing if they do not feel well. In other word when you tired you cannot do anything good as you expected. I always love a saying that says “a healthy mind comes from a healthy body”. When you are happy or healthy you can work effectively. You will make a little mistake. Accordingly, if students have a good health due to the fact of playing some sports frequently they will learn more proficiently.

In conclusion, people have their own preferences about the issue whether the university should spend the same money on libraries and classes as well as on sports and activities. For two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly believe that besides time of learning in classroom and reading books in the libraries, students need to play sports and do some activities in order to learn more effectively. Therefore, the university should spend the same money on both.