TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

True friendship is always a blessing. There is a popular epigram 'a friend in need is a friend indeed'. So, time factor does not count much to make a friend. Either your friend is old or new, the most important thing is the feeling you share with them. In the same way, having a old friend who understands you is a bliss. Therefore, I agree with the statement at some extent that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

First, one person who has been with you from your early days reminds you how you used to be and what your life struggles used to be like. That particular person has been with you in every thick and thin of your life. You share almost everything with that person. So, such a person has to be taken as precious part of your life. Here, you can understand the significance of old friendship. So, we have to learn to love and bask the bonding. Old is gold so are old friends, valuable as precious element.

Second, life is never a bed of roses. We have to choose friends wisely with whom we can share our lives with. To make a strong bond, we do not need to meet and talk everyday but whenever we talk, it is always the same. For instance, if you are in a dire situation where you are grappling against your bad health, one friend who wishes you good health, and the other who stays with you day and night to care, both are your friends. Here, we can not restrict a new friend to take care of you when we have no old friends left. We can not discriminate friendship.

Third, we can learn a lot from our friends and families. It is undeniable that how major part of our life revolve around them. Be it be school friends, college friends or workplace friends, everyone holds a special part in our lives. The duration of time does not matter a lot if we are able to have amiable relationship with people we meet. There are lots of songs, movies, series, stories etc. made for friends. Every person, irrespective of nationality and colour, have same affinity for friends. Every season of serial 'Friends' has been a worldwide hit, accepted by global population because it explains high and low, love and bonding, feud and reunion of the protagonists depicting friendship, this is a classic example of friendship.

Thus, in the ever changing life, we have to meet many new people. It is not a restriction to make new friends. We have to cherish our old friendship and learn to value it. Similarly, we can also make new friends with whom we feel bond with. Life is too short to regret and hate so, keep loving everyone and value every relationship.