TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

According to the increasing rate at which technology is changing and influencing ours lives, it further predicts that sooner there will come a time when we will see our lives as we have seen in futuristic films. Books are being replaced by tablets, mails have transformed into emails, cash being changed into cards, reward points or bitcoins. We can further expect to see our cars being transformed into floating pads for us to travel long distances to avoid traffic.

Since 10 years we have seen cars being modified to a greater extend. First they had manual function, now they are automatic. Most of today's generation does not even know how to drive a manual car because they are rarely seen. Now the most recent technology in cars is called 'autopilot'. It is just like our airplanes that once plane is in the air the pilot puts it on auto pilot and the planes fly itself at a constant speed. Similar practice is being followed in the most recent Mercedes that once the path is put in the GPS then the driver puts his car on auto pilot mode and the car drives itself. It uses the sensors around the car to check for pedestrians and surrounding traffic and adjusts the speed accordingly. This technology is being further studied to completely replace cars into individual flying pads. They are like backpacks that an individual wears and uses it to fly. Almost 2 years ago, this technology was tested in New York city where 2 individuals flew around buildings for a while. However, it is still under research.

Because of the increasing number of population, we are experiencing an increase in the number of cars and other forms of transportation. And this results in an increase in the demand for more roads and bridges that results in deforestation which could be harmful for our environment. Also, this increase in traffic is causing congestion in cities as well as in residential areas. This increase in number of cars is another reason why people experience traffic on the roads and tend to avoid them by travelling in trains. For example, when I go to the university, it takes me an hour and a half to drive. However, if I use a train it just take 40 minutes. And because of this I travel by train most of the time. Also, if I take my car then I need to find parking space, that is full of hassle and another reason why people do not want to use cars anymore.

Similarly, people who work in the cities also prefer to use subways and trains on daily basis to travel because of the traffic on the roads and this will soon result in no cars being wanted. Also, the research on flying pads may get effective in 20 years. Along with the increasing use of trains and buses people will soon completely eliminate the use of cars thus making them obsolete.