TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

There is no shortage about the debate whether people use their time more for personal enjoyment than for commitments such as work or further education. In my opinion, people use their time too much for obligation and thus have no time for personal enjoyment. Moreover, the question arise why can personal enjoyment and commitments be one and the same. In the ensuing paragraph, I will try to shed some light on my perspective through ample examples and conspicuous reason.

The exquisite point to be mentioned firstly is that in today world money people are addicted to their obligations such as work, so that they spend too much time for their obligation instead to enjoy their life. Moreover, many people forget that time has a higher value than money and thus time should be used for their own good. Further alarming statistics predict that the number of people with burnout syndrome will rise exponentially. My own experience is a compelling example of this. One of my greatest friends is an amazing entrepreneur, but also very addicted to his work. He did rarely take a break from his work to go out and consequently he had his first serious burnout with the age of 21. This showed me that many people nowadays rarely take time for themselves. For this reason, people should use their time more for personal enjoyment.

Secondly, I would like to regard the question from the introduction why commitment and personal pleasure can’t be the same. Moreover, personal enjoyment is falsely defined, because it excludes personal commitments and obligations which can be also very pleasurable. For instance, I worked as a working student at Siemens in the Cyber Security Office during my gap year. However, I didn’t see it as a commitment more than a personal enjoyment and thus I was also ready to use my “free time” to accomplish several tasks for my department. Accordingly, I believe that personal enjoyment and commitment can easily come together.

Due to above mentioned ground, I firmly believe that people should take time for their personal enjoyment, especially because the trend shows that many people nowadays have health issue such as burnout due to too much obligations. Further I believe that enjoyment and commitment can be the one and the same thing.