TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

Nowadays, people tend to spend more time on leisure activities instead of focusing on their main objectives or their responsibilities. This can be witnessed by the increasing use of internet and computer games along with other factors.

Since, internet is easily accessible by everyone around the globe has led people to be less focused on their studies and work. Social Media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram etc have impacted the population to such an extend that has caused them to lose focus on their aims. For example, many teenagers and even adults spend ample amount of time facebooking including me. There was one time when I used to sit for hours facebooking and wasting time instead of studying and because of that I failed some of my exams.

Also, people tend to use these platforms in order to enjoy such as playing farmville, that was one of the most popular games in 2014. And sometimes people play that for hours without realizing that it is time to eat or sleep. That further results in loss of appetite and reduced health. Also, they get sleep deprived and results in poor efficiency throughout the day. Like my cousin, she was extremely addicted to farmville that she often used to play for hours late night on the phone that caused her to wake up all exhausted and was not able carry out normal routine work during the day.

If you spend too much time on enjoyment, it does not only jeopardize your health but it also restricts your ability to achieve your goal. For example, I was planning to start the university in January 2018 but I was extremely addicted to playing 'Dota' (computer game) that I used to play for 5 hours straight everyday. Thinking that I will apply in the mid of January. However, the time passed by and not only this but I missed the deadline. And then I had to apply in February instead. Addiction caused me to be irresponsible about my aim and delayed my achievement.

Personal enjoyment is also needed in order to keep yourself motivated and fresh and it also aids in achieving our main goals. Like, when I had an objective to work and I wanted to ride bicycle everyday to work. This helped me achieve my goal as well as I enjoyed my way to work. And not only this but I was also able to reduce weight.

Balancing your personal enjoyment along with things that you need to do is not difficult. This can be easily managed when you try to make and follow your schedule. Like during the time I was working, I was able to assign one hour to the computer game and the rest to focus on my work and education. In this way I was able to do both without damaging either one. Because if I do not enjoy at all then I can become stressful and tired. Therefore, it is important to maintain balance between the two.