TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we look back on the old days that human beings had passed, we are amazed by the tremendous development that we made. Seeing all the things we possess today, comparing to the former generations, indeed, life is easier and more comfortable today rather than the days when our grandparents were children. I would like to reinforce my opinion from following aspects.

First of all, we live in a world that is so peaceful that had never appeared before. Decades ago, peace is such a desirable word for people around the world that they can only make dreams of it day and night. When I was a little girl, my grandmother always liked to tell me stories that happened in her childhood. She said that they always had to settle from one place to another to find a secure place to shelter. Moreover, every night they went to sleep with the companion of sound unuttered by gun or some other weapons. It seems that the world was entirely colored by blood. The society is chaotic and people are all thrown in wholly panic and horror. Every time when my grandmother told this kind of things, I can feel her sorrow and there always tears in her eyes. How fortunate we are to be born in such a peace time that we don't need to bother with our security of life.

On the other hand, we enjoy a much higher quality of life than our grandparents do. Several years ago it is a crucial problem to fill people's stomach. Even millions of people starve to death. While today we have a large quantity species of food to choose,and there also careful parents who schedule the nutritious food table for us. Not only can we have enough food to eat, but also live in a healthier life style. Furthermore, there were not many recreations before, nowadays we have the access of computer, TV and some other kind of high technical products. Via these things, we can retain a colorful and vigorous life. For instance, if we miss some friends far away, we just need to make a phone call to contact with him/her instead of writing a long letter which would cost you several days even weeks. For another example, we traveled distance by foot before that was so fatigue while today we can by car or even by plane to far far away. Obviously, life becomes easier and more comfortable than generations ago.

In conclusion, today people own more happiness than before. Life is so decent and superb. As far as I am concerned, nowadays the only thing we need to do is that we should learn to cherish what we have possessed and endeavor to improve our society to a better world to live in. All people around the world should hand in hand to build a harmonious world