TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every student has its own way to study and achieve good results. But is it really justified to learn anything instead of understanding the concept behind it? Well some people think that it is fine to mug up facts unless it is helping a student to score high grades. On the other hand, there are majority of the people who do not believe in this notion and I am also included in this section for the following reasons.

To begin with, mugging up a fact is difficult and short lasting as compared to understanding it. It is not a topic of debate that learning a fact is much more difficult than understanding as human brain is not capable of remembering things for longer time. No matter, how much efforts a child puts in to memorize something. It is in evident that eventually he/she will forget it for example my friend always used to mug up things and it used to take more time for him to do that. In spite of all that diligence, he always used to forget it at time of exams and could never score good marks. This made me realize the importance of comprehending a concept rather than learning it and contributed a lot in achieving my goals.

Moreover, remembering things can work during school but it will not be of any help during college. As we all know that the syllabus in college is vast and much more than what it is school. Most of the students can get through school with the habit of memorizing but when they advent to college, life becomes tough for them as they habituated of mugging and now this trick does not help them. I can recall one of my friend’s incidents, he had habit of mugging things in school and score descent marks but after coming to college it was very intricate for him to learn all facts and concepts. Thus, he failed in his first year exam. After observing this, he left the habit of mugging and started practicing understanding every idea and concept. As a result, he passed with good marks next year.

To recapitulate, I would like to suggest that though learning seems to be easy and a good short cut to achieve high grades but in long run it will destroy one’s career. Also, it is feasible to change or to adopt certain habits during childhood but as a person grows older; it is very difficult to mould one self. Therefore, to become successful in every field of life, it is must that we adopt the appropriate practices at a young age and follow them all our lives instead of taking short cuts.