TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Watching television becomes one of the most prevalent activities for kids aged two to five for entertaining themselves. We have to admit that watching TV is more attractive to children than any other activities because of its vivid and dynamic demonstrations. Kids spend a lot of time in front of TV because their parents are too busy to take care of them. Parents are fine with those cartoons. However, they are concerning about whether the ads inserted between the programs are child-friendly. Some of parents assert that ads targeted children from two to five shouldn’t be allowed. I personally don’t agree with this idea. The reasons are as follows.

To begin with, these particular ads could reduce the impact of inappropriate information on kids. Kids aged two to five are curious about the world around them. However, they don’t have mature judgement to filter the information they get from outside, making them vulnerable and susceptible. What they do is simply absorb and imitate the thing they see and hear, in this case, the ads. Some ads are not appropriate for kids at their ages. These ads are deliberately ridiculers and exaggerating to be more attractive concerning the cognitive ability of adults. These are the ads that definitely mislead kids, distorting their recognition of the world. Thus, specific ads for kids aged two to five are necessary protections to prevent them from being misled.

Moreover, ads can be used to promote kids mental growth. Occupying most of the free time, watching TV could be used as educational purpose. Educational ads take advantages of the interval time between programs to spread ethical ideas using vivid demonstration. For example, my 3-year-old nephew made his mother a card on Mother’s day. We were surprised because no one told him and we didn’t expect him to do anything. When we asked him where did he find out this, he said that TV ads had been introduce Mother’s day for a while. Thanks to these educational ads, my nephew knows to be thankful. Ads that possess educational functions benefit the growth of kids unconsciously without annoy them.

Finally, some parents refutes ads targeted kids. They concern those commercial ads which could manipulate their children lacking discriminating ability to buy products. This argument to some extent is reasonable, but it is not sufficient to be the reason abandoning the ads. Government should enhance their supervisions and investigations over ads particularly for children. Those ads with misleading messages cannot survive under strict ads systems.

To sum up, ads aimed two to five could have positive impact on kids as long as they focus on educational purpose and under strict supervision. These specific ads can also help kids filter the misleading information inappropriate for their ages.