TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different ideas about the question of whether or not television advertising directed towards young children from the age of two to five should not be allowed. Some people think that at the age of two to five, children should be allowed to watch television advertising. Some other people would not agree with this statement. In my point of view, I support the idea that people should select the advertising that can be suitable for children and allow them to watch it. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, watching appropriate advertising on television will help children to be more active. We all know that at the age of two to five, the brain of children develop raptly. If people know how to take advantage of this time to let children to watch the ads, which suit their age, such as some kinds of mathematics game. It can help children a lot. My nephew is a compelling example of this case. He is five years old now. Every day after supper, his mom let him watch the advertising about the function of cereal and some kinds of fruits. He enjoyed watching these ads. Now he is able to tell what vitamins contains in oranges, strawberries and many other fruits, as well as which way is the best method to keep fruit fresh. This point demonstrates that watching advertising brings many benefits to children.

Another reason is that when children at the age of two to five watch advertising, they usually repeat what they have seen on the screen, it is a good way for them to learn to speak clearly. It is no doubt the children are often good at imitating other voices. Therefore, when they watch advertising on television they tend to follow the voice of people speaking in ads. For instance, my sister told me that she was surprises about her daughter. At the age of four her daughter can mimic many the tones of voice of the people on advertising. It is that people in my country, Vietnam have different actions in speaking. It is not easy for us to imitate the voice of people in other locations, but my niece can speak correctly the voice of people in the south and in the north of my country.

In conclusion, people have their own ideas about the issues of whether or not people should allow children to watch television ads. In my opinion, for two reason, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly support the idea that it is very good for children at the age of two to five to watch the television ads.