TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the topic of playing game, people tend to develop various viewpoints. Some adopts the idea that playing games is wasting a lot of time so they should not let children do it, whereas others are more inclined to the notion that games help people relax after a hard working day. Personally, I find myself in the same place as the latter one for the following reasons.

To begin with, playing video games gives people a chance to widen their friends circle. In fact, people start a friendship when they feel that they have something in common with each other. Therefore, people playing same videos games actually have things that similar to each other, so it will provide them a chance to start a friendship. For example, my friend Tuan was an introvert, he were so shy to make friends with new people. At the beginning, I did not really know him, all I knew was we were in the same class. However, Tuan and I started to talk to each other after we found out that we both played Vainglory, a very famous game on mobile. It gave us a topic that we both enjoy it, so our conversations were really comfortable. Therefore, we felt that other person seem to be very nice so after that, we formed a relationship and keeped contact till now. What can be seen from this example is people, through video games, can strike up a friendship. In conclusion, people should not prevent children from playing game.

Furthermore, there is another reason that children should play video games is these game recharge children’s batteries after a tiring day. It is undeniable that relaxing is extremely important for a person to work efficiently; if a worker does his job without relaxing, his brain will be too tired and this will do a great harm to him. For example, in Upin, my friend, is an expert in procrastination. In our math class, we have 6 weeks to prepare for a presentation for the final project. Unlike other students, he spent the first 5 weeks and 6 days doing nothing; until there was only a day left, he worked on the presentation without relaxing and he finished his preparation right before the class. Although it was a very specific presentation, he did not receive a good grade because his voice tone was not good enough. The reason was he did not have enough energy to control his voice so his presentation sounded not convincing enough. If Upin spent just an hour to recharge his batteries, his project would be a lot better.

In conclusion, people should relax to work efficiently.

Ultimately, I found it is unjustified to not let children play video games. The reasons are playing games helps them broaden their circle of friends and develop their working efficiency. Furthermore, games companies need to publish more helpful product for children.