TPO 12 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some value to gain a broad range of knowledge while others prefer to focus on studying specific subjects. Although both approaches to academics have different benefits and drawbacks, I believe it is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in specific subjects for several reasons.

First, studying a wide range of subjects helps people to gain different perspectives, which shapes critical thinking. For example, environmental issues are often related to a variety of human activities. Through looking at the issues from multiple perspectives, people can better understand the issues, which aids them in identifying possible solutions. More complicated the problems are, more interdisciplinary approaches are needed to define and analyze the issues for better problem-solving.

Second, interdisciplinary learning is helpful for students who have difficulty finding what their academic interests are. From my experience, I had no idea about my career when I was in high school. Even though I was interested in English, I did not know what to study besides English and what job to do with using English. However, since I studied abroad and took classes of diverse subjects at a college, I was able to find my true interest in the study. Even though some friends of mine had a clear idea of what they want to learn at schools before going to college and focused on the subjects they’re interested in, I appreciate the opportunities that allowed me to find my true passion for study through gaining different kinds of knowledge.

Despite those benefits of learning a broad range of knowledge, some jobs require people to specialize in one specific subject. For example, most professional occupations need specific skills and knowledge such as doctors and lawyers. To be an expert in licentious jobs, it can save time and money to focus on studying specific subjects rather than a variety of subjects that less relate to occupations. Although it depends on individuals to choose which approaches to get those jobs, I believe that the purpose of acquiring knowledge is not just getting jobs or being successful at work. My teacher taught me the purpose of education is to contribute to society in particular for those who could not afford to receive an education. If schools concentrate on teaching specific subjects, the students might focus on studying for their sake by limiting their perspectives.

In conclusion, I think it is better to study a wide range of knowledge because interdisciplinary studies encourage people to develop critical thinking and to find their true passion. Although focusing on specific subjects allows students to save time and money to gain licentious jobs, I believe acquiring a wide range of knowledge teaches students more profound purposes in life and study.