TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge is valuable in every era. It is believed that the wisest of people is to invest in education. However, people have different ideas about question of whether it is more important to have wide comprehension in many subjects than to specify in one special major. In my point of view, I would like to be educated in a particular subject. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if I choose one major, I am able to spend all my energy to develop and learn to understand this subject more deeply. We all know that time is limited, for me I cannot do two things in a certain time. Therefore, I prefer to invest to one thing and try to do my best, and I strongly believe that I can get the best result by doing that way. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in nursing college, I had to take many courses in a term, besides, I also wanted to learn some optional subjects in order to support my career late on. Thus, I took six classes per a semester. I worked day and night as a diligent ant. I did not have any leisure time to take care myself. However, I could not get the grades as my goal. Understanding my ability and the limitation of time, I quit some selective classes and concentrated on my own major classes. As a result, I achieved many good marks and I obtained a scholarship that year as well. This point illustrates that if I focus on one subject, I can do better than taking many majors.

Secondly, nowadays, most of the company owners tend to hire the people who specialize in a particular subject or skill rather than in many subjects. Therefore, being an expert in one field is better than having a little information about several fields. In other words, if you are a scholar in one major, it is easier to have a good and stable job. To be more specific, last month two of my friends together applied for a job in a supermarket near our town. One of them specializes in technological computer, the other one has potential in some different jobs. Eventually, the one who is expert at technology was received to work there. The Vietnamese have a proverb that says: “Jack of all trades and master of none”. It means, a person who can do many different types of work but not is necessarily very competent at any of them. Thus, spending your energy to develop your skill in one specific field is better than having incompetent knowledge in many fields.

In conclusion, because of limitations in our time and energy, the advantages of specializing in one specific subject outweighs the advantages of learning many academic subjects. I strongly support the statement that it is better to focus on one specific subject.