TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone has their own opinion about education as it depends on many factors and circumstances, so, the view point on this may vary from person to person. But is it necessary to always have broad knowledge of many subjects than to specialize in one subject? Well some people think that it is good for the students to have knowledge of variety of subjects as it will increase their chances of success. However, I do not concur with this notion for the following reasons.

First, in today’s modern world students have less time and vast syllabus to study anyway that makes it difficult to focus on many subjects at a time. Although, it might be better for a student to master many subjects as it provides more opportunity to get success but it is not possible and practical. I can say this strongly because I have seen my younger brother struggling to study many subjects in his high school. He could not do justice with all of them and it even affected his grades. Later, he decided to just focus on science and took it as a major in his college and I was astonished to see the improvement in his grades. This incidence made me realized that it is essential to be practical in life as well and to see if one has time and energy to pay attention to many subjects or not.

Second, nowadays it is necessary to have expertise in something as there is cut throat competition everywhere. People who are very good at something and can prove themselves better than their peers are capable of getting good jobs or potential opportunities in life. If one has little knowledge about everything then it would be quite difficult to get a good job for example a high school student cannot get a good job as a student who has done his masters in management or in medicine can get. Hence, it is evident by above examples that it is extremely important to have command over one particular subject to have a bright future.

To sum up, I would like to state that if a person is extraordinarily brilliant and has plenty of time then she/he should definitely pursue studying variety of subjects at a time but if a student who is neither interested nor has the ample amount of time to study as she/he might have other issues like family responsibilities then it would be absolutely waste of time and energy to simply study many subjects when one can instead easily master one thing and make promising future in it.