TPO-16 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Travel has become popular and popular in recent years with lots of new travel site be discovered, such as Iceland and North Korea. Whether travel in a group with a tour guide or travel by oneself (including one person or one family) is often a question to be discussed before the starting of the travel. Personally, I prefer to travel by myself because of the following reasons.

First, it is more free to travel by oneself. When traveling alone, one can decide where to go and where not to go solely be ones' interest, also, one can change the plan whenever one would like to. For example, if I am a person who like natural site, I can decide not to go to museums even if the museums are famous at the place I am going to, or, I can suddenly change my mind to go to museums during the trip if the weather is not good.

Second, by traveling alone, one can dig deeper into the local history and culture. When traveling alone, the chance is higher that you have no one to talk to, so there is a high possibility that one will direct his/her attention to the destination. One of the benefits of paying more attention to the destination is that the memory tends to be more vivid than traveling with a group when you recall back to the trip sometime in the future.

Third, to me, the definition of traveling is that whether I get a chance to walk around the city, to interact with local people, and to taste some traditional food of the place I am visiting. Although someone would say that travel with a group is more hassle free and you can have all of the benefits mentioned, searching for information of the locals before the trip and seeing all of the information become real things in front of my eye is more exciting and memorable feeling compared to not knowing beforehand when traveling with groups. Furthermore, there is a big chance that traveling alone is cheaper than traveling in groups (when you need to pay extra money to guides and some luxurious hotels that one probably does not need).

To conclude, I enjoy traveling alone more because of the more vivid and memorable memories I will get.