TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Perhaps, few subjects in the world are as controversial as the contribution of advertisements. The discussion has centered on whether advertisers have exaggerated about the realistic of any products or not. To the best of my knowledge, while it can not be generalized to all cases, I tend to agree on such an assumption based on the following concerns.

The first point to mention is that due to acquiring higher level of profit margin, advertising producers has focused on those attributes which are appealing to most people. Meanwhile, they have concealed some, if not all, parts of their product's aftermaths. In this regard, they can absorb consumer's eyes to enhance theirs sales. A slimming-drug advertisement, as an example, has intentionally played down the amount of time for using it. In addition, there is a little room for doubt that the hazardous consequences of consuming this commodity will not notice. By applying this strategy, the annual sales of this company boost.

Moreover, providing an exaggerated account has paved the way for advertisers to increase the amount of their unplanned consumers. In fact, there has been wide range of advertisements' infrastructure such as billboards, flags and banners which allow the producers to instigate those people who purchase impulsively. Since they voraciously tend to buy some dispensable items, they might not have broad horizon about the quality of commodity which advertisements introduce. Consequently, an exaggeration account easily can mislead them.

On the other hand, there are some occasions that advertising can benefit people by boosting their level of knowledge about a specific topic. To illustrate this concept, non-profit advertisements such as anti-drug, anti-smoking as well as some campaign about being watchful about natural resource not only can inform most people but also, it is beneficial as they are regarded as most viewed TV program. Therefore, it is immature to say advertising cause misleading in all cases.

From what have been discussed, the advertisers try to create a perfect image for their production. As it was mentioned, not only boosting their profits, but also absorbing more impulsive consumers has made them to adopt this approach. However, some of them compassionately provide accurate information through their campaign.