TPO-17 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The marketing field is one of the most important aspects of business. As a MBA student I can assert that without marketing, all companies cannot sell even one product. People trend to buy those products with good-looking and some nice and specific words on them. It is reasonable that companies do their best to compete and show their products more appealing and attractive.

First of all, I want to start with cosmetics products like eye shadow and mascara. On every fliers and banner you can see a beautiful woman with long and nice eyelashes and some more makeup. Your second response is an excitement feeling that I want to be as beautiful as her and immediately think to buy one of those. After two or three days of application, you are so disappointed that nobody even could understand your difference but you already paid for it. This purchase just satisfied a reward part of your brain which got happy for one day and not more. And this is exactly what marketing experts use to sell their products.

Furthermore, advertisements prefer to convey you that they are different from other similar products in some good ways. For example, some words like natural, new, organic and fashion-style attract you to pay a little more for exactly the same product. Imagine milk, almond, shampoo, bag or even chair. Before going to warehouses you think that it is really simple to buy something cheap and useful. What happens after comparing all products? You are confused with different descriptions and you cannot remember that the chair is chair and new design is not important at all. The word “new” just sent a message to your brain that it is better while it is not.

Admittedly, some advertisements do not exaggerate about the quality. Still, I believe that those products are not very expensive and people have to buy them for necessary purposes not for luxury. If we want to persuade people to buy something that they do not need at all, we have to produce a fake demand for it and then convince them it is really better and interesting. Therefore, if a product is not a basic merchandise, we have to anticipate a lower quality.

To wrap up, we live in a marketing and advertising world so consciously and unconsciously companies influence us. This is completely natural that the real quality is not as good as what it seems.